The R.A.P. CD - August 2013

RAP CD logo 2Welcome to the August 2013 R.A.P. CD! First up is this month's Editor's Choice Award winner, a special piece from Ben Thorgeirson at Newcap Radio in Calgary. You will recall the recent floods that hit Calgary and literally shut the city down. Ben, along with Pat Laporte and Paul Kaye, put together this feature in response to the disaster and how people confronted it.

Next up is an amazing montage of spots from this month's interview subject, Gary Michaels at Schurz Communications in Lafayette, Indiana. Track 3 is audio for Dave Foxx's Production 212 column. Promos are on tracks 4 through 9, and commercials are on tracks 10 through 17, beginning with a spot from Chuck Archer, OM at B101.5/WFVA in Fredericksburg, VA. The spot won the Best Commercial award at the recent Virginia Association of Broadcasters Awards competition, and was produced by the station's Production Director, Bill Carroll. Congrats, Bill! Track 18 is a montage of bits from Dave Cockram. Track 19, "Findus Cup", is a piece Colin McGinness did in response to the food scandal in the UK earlier this year. Colin adds: "...big food scandal happening here with horse meat being found in everything from Beef Burgers (yes, beef burgers) to Lasagna ready meals. FINDUS is the name of one of the bigger companies caught in the scandal..." And we wrap it up with some fun from Daniel Shandroski who notes: "The other producer [R. Baverstock] and I recently found out that one of the stations here in Winnipeg was switching to a classical format. After much brainstorming and laughing we came up with a montage of what we think the new station should sound like. Enjoy!!!"

1. ►ECA Winner: #calgarystrong, Ben Thorgeirson, Pat Laporte, Paul Kaye, Newcap Radio, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, bent[at]newcap.ca
2. Commercial Montage from Gary Michaels, Lafayette, Indiana, michaels[at]wask.com
3. Production 212 audio, Dave Foxx, Z100, New York, NY, davefoxx[at]clearchannel.com
4. The Drive/iListen at Work, Matt Wallace, 89.5 The Drive, Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada, matt[at]895thedrive.com
5. Pirate – 80s vs 90s Promo, Adam Venton, UKRD Group, Bristol, United Kingdom, adam.venton[at]ukrd.com
6. The Matt & Jo Show LIVES HERE, Jerimiah Busniak, Southern Cross Austereo, South Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, Jerimiah.Busniak[at]sca.com.au
7. Drink the Alley Dry, Gary McCleneghan, Astral Radio, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, gmccleneghan[at]astral.com
8. Big Music Test, Jamie Montgomery, 105.3 KISS FM, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, Jamie.montgomery[at]ottawaradio.rogers.com
9. 1K Double Play, Ron Tarrant, Kiss 92.5, Toronto, Ontario, Canada, ron.tarrant[at]rci.rogers.com
10. Steamers – Star Search, Chuck Archer, B101.5/WFVA, Fredericksburg, Virginia, chuck[at]wbqb.com
11. Newcastle Nissan – Shift, Matt Fogarty, 106.9 the Wolf, Nanaimo, BC, Canada, mfogarty[at]islandradio.bc.ca
12. Big Red Music Fest, Skyler Richard, Newcap Radio, Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada, srichard[at]newcap.ca
13. Instant Products Group – Keep Digging, Aussie Moore, Mix 94.5, Perth, Western Australia, Aussie.Moore[at]sca.com.au
14. Evergreen Tire – Online vs Local, Rod Schwartz, Grace Broadcast Sales, Pullman, Washington, rod[at]gracebroadcast.com
15. Steve's Movieworld, Steve Thompson, 105.3 KOOL-FM / 99.5 KFUN, Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario, Canada, steve.thompson[at]bellmedia.ca
16. Chocolates & Candlelight – V-Day Ambush, Ryan Leininger, Rogers Broadcasting, Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada, ryan.leininger[at]rci.rogers.com
17. Prestige – Butler 1, Kristen Gilchrist, CHAT/MY 96, Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada, kgilchrist[at]jpbg.ca
18. Meredith's Moving Day Bits Reel, Dave Cockram, Rogers Broadcasting, david.cockram[at]rci.rogers.com
19. Findus Cup, Colin McGinness, UKRD, Bristol, United Kingdom, colin.mcginness[at]ukrd.com
20. Crescendo 107, Daniel Shandroski, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, Daniel.shandroski[at]gmail.com

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

  1. Posting comment as a guest. Your post will be moderated. Your email address will not be shown or linked. (If you have an account, log in for real time posting and other options.)
0 Characters
Attachments (0 / 3)
Share Your Location