The R.A.P. CD - August 2014

RAP-CD-logo-2Welcome to the August 2014 R.A.P. CD! We kick things off with this month’s Editor’s Choice Award winner, an entertaining spot for a computer store from Kurt Kaniewski. Next up is a sampler from this month’s interview subject, Mark Margulies. Track 3 is audio for this month’s newly-resurrected Producer’s VU column! Track 4 is Dave Foxx’s VO track for our Produce Dave Foxx 2 competition! Read this month’s Production 212 for details. Track 5 is the promo Dave mentions in his column. Track 6 is a promo from Guy Harris that won Best Male Voiceover in the recent 2014 VOX Awards. More promos are on tracks 7-11, and commercials are on tracks 12-17.

Track 18 is a sample of World Cup imaging from Adam Venton that ran across the UKRD Group and comes with this interesting story: “I’m proud of this for a couple of reasons in particular – first and foremost, the VO is an amateur. She is actually the next door neighbor of Colin McGinness, our head of department! As she is Portuguese, we saw an opportunity to go for a more authentic Latin American sound (as Portuguese is the language of Brazil) and to make it stand out even more. Of course, the big challenge here was getting the right intonation/read from her in what is a foreign language to her! She did a remarkable job. The second big task was scripting around all the trademarked and reserved rights set out by FIFA – meaning everything from ‘world cup’ to ‘Brazil 2014’ was not allowed to be used. The challenge was to reference the event so that all our listeners knew what we were talking about, without actually mentioning it.”

Track 19 is a fun piece from George Johnson, and we wrap it up with a cool treat from Tim Burt, The Commercial Professor [RAP Interview, May 2014].

1. ECA Winner: Great Prices Tattoo Parlor – You’re Next, Kurt Kaniewski, kurtkoncepts.com, kurt[at]kurtkoncepts.com
2. Mark Margulies Commercial Sampler, BENMARadio, Greenwood Village, Colorado, BenMar1987[at]aol.com
3. Producer’s VU: Black Keys – Next, John Pallarino, Summit Media, Greenville, South Carolina, johnpallarino[at]gmail.com
4. Production 212: Produce Dave Foxx 2 VO track, Dave Foxx, Z100, New York, NY, davefoxx[at]clearchannel.com
5. Six Flags Great Adventure Weekend, Dave Foxx, Z100, New York, NY, davefoxx[at]clearchannel.com
6. Radio Trail – Sport Relief, Guy Harris, voiceoverguy.co.uk, guy[at]voiceoverguy.co.uk
7. Rock Roadtrip – Metallica Montreal, Gary McClenaghan, Bell Media, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, gary.mcclenaghan[at]bellmedia.ca
8. Kiss Off to Beyonce & Jay Z, Jamie Montgomery, Rogers Radio Group, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, jamie.montgomery[at]ottawaradio.rogers.com
9. SUNFM Beatmatch ID, Cameron Wendt, Bell Media, Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada, cameron.wendt[at]bellmedia.ca
10. Rock the House Promo, Ryan Spooner/Stephen Ball, Rogers Radio Group, Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada, Ryan.Spooner[at]rci.rogers.com
11. Guy’s Garage 2014 – Launch, Evan Surminski, Power 97/991 Fresh FM, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, esurminski[at]cjob.com
12. Frogurt – Frogasm, Ben Thorgeirson, Newcap Radio, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, bent[at]newcap.ca
13. The Cake Ole, Luke McPeake, UKRD Group, Bristol, United Kingdom, luke.mcpeake[at]ukrd.com
14. Animal Ark – Horsey, Matt Fogarty, Island Radio/Jim Pattison Broadcast Group, British Columbia, Canada, mfogarty[at]islandradio.bc.ca
15. Dick’s Electronics – Mob Technology, Tim Hammond, Southern Cross Austereo, Bunbury, WA, Australia
16. M.J. Ryder – Hypnotize, Langley Gerrard, UKRD, Bristol, United Kingdom, langley.gerrard[at]ukrd.com
17. Jafar Konoodi, Deborah Hopkins, 105.3 KOOL-FM / 99.5 KFUN, Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario, Canada, deborah.hopkins[at]bellmedia.ca
18. World Cup Imaging, Adam Venton, UKRD Group, Bristol, United Kingdom, adam.venton[at]ukrd.com
19. RAP Magazine Promo, George Johnson, blabbermouth[at]frontier.com
20. Lifetime Commercial Critique, Tim Burt, KYKY-FM/KEZK-FM, St. Louis, Missouri, tmburt[at]stl.cbs.com

 

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

  1. Posting comment as a guest. Your post will be moderated. Your email address will not be shown or linked. (If you have an account, log in for real time posting and other options.)
0 Characters
Attachments (0 / 3)
Share Your Location