The R.A.P. CD - September 2012

RAP-CD-logo-2Welcome to the September 2012 R.A.P. CD! We kick things off with this month's Editor's Choice Award winner, an excellent piece of production from Robin Egerton at Astral in Calgary. Next up on track 2 is audio for Dave Foxx's Production 212 column. Commercials are on tracks 3-9 starting with a montage of 3 spots from Rod Schwartz, who adds this interesting info about the spots: This client actually spends money to run approximately 16 spots on April 1st, on every station in the market, just to give his customers and neighbors something to chuckle about, and perhaps an additional reason to remember him when they need a new washer, refrigerator, TV, bed.... He's "frivolous" only this one time each year, but he's on radio every day of the year, investing over 90% of his ad budget in our medium. The business used to be a "print hog" for most of the 51 years it's been around; the former owner (yes, Howard Hughes is his name) has told me on more than one occasion that every time he looks at his collection of newspaper ad tear sheets, he mentally kicks himself for all the money he "wasted" (his word, not mine) in print. The fellows who purchased his store a dozen years ago gave me the benefit of the doubt when I pitched them on making the customer, not their store, central to their advertising, and putting his money into radio branding rather than weekly sales in the newspaper. They've since doubled their sales by following this practice.

Promos are on tracks 10-14, and we wrap it up with a chuckle from the archives from CJ Goodearl! 

1. ♦ Vertical Extreme/Freefallin', Robin Egerton, Astral Radio, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, regerton@astral.com
2. Production 212 audio, Dave Foxx, Z100, New York, NY, davefoxx@clearchannel.com
3. Howard Hughes April Fools Day Montage – Rod Schwartz, Grace Broadcast Sales, rod@gracebroadcast.com
4. Hal Insurance/Male – Lee Ruby, Harvard Broadcasting, lruby@harvardbroadcasting.com
5. Hudson Chevrolet Buick GMC - Steve Thompson/Mike Vuckovich, 105.3 KOOL-FM / 99.5 KFUN, Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario, Canada, steve.thompson@bellmedia.ca
6. Hatch Toyota/Tundra Color – Andrew Frame, BAFSoundworks.com, Lehigh Acres, Florida, Andrew@bafsoundworks.com
7. KW Appliance Plus - Deborah Hopkins, 105.3 KOOL-FM / 99.5 KFUN, Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario, Canada, deborah.hopkins@bellmedia.ca
8. Johnston Packers LTD/Public Service – Jay Helmus, Astral Radio, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, jhelmus@astral.com
9. Harry's Hi-Fi/Feels Right – JJ Elliott, Harvard Broadcasting, Regina, Sask., Canada, jjelliott@harvardbroadcasting.com
10. Jack FM Olympic Mashup – Dave Cockram, Rogers Radio, david.cockram@rci.rogers.com
11. Tiesto Live – Ron Tarrant, 91-7 The Bounce, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, pureproduction@live.ca
12. Stray/Sadie Rose Promo – Colin McGinness, UKRD, United Kingdom, colin.mcginness@ukrd.com
13. Sun/British Summer 2012 – Adam Venton, UKRD, Bristol, United Kingdom, adam.venton@ukrd.com
14. Playoff Party - Gary McClenaghan - Harvard Broadcasting, Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada, garym@harvardbroadcasting.com
15. Blondyke Bar - CJ Goodearl, WJRR-FM, Orlando, Florida, cjgoodearl@clearchannel.com

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

  1. Posting comment as a guest. Your post will be moderated. Your email address will not be shown or linked. (If you have an account, log in for real time posting and other options.)
0 Characters
Attachments (0 / 3)
Share Your Location