The R.A.P. CD - June 2010

RAP-CD-logo-2Welcome to the June 2010 RAP CD. The 2009 RAP Awards are behind us, and we're back to our regular format. We get started with audio from this month's interview subject, Mike Andersen. The first segment of the track is Mike's latest production demo, followed with an encore presentation of Mike's three winning RAP Awards entries. Track 2 is Production 212 audio from Dave Foxx. Track 3 is a montage of material submitted by Bill Jackson in response to our Q It Up question on being creative in 5 or 10 seconds. Read then listen. (Thanks, Bill!) We get an awesome collection of commercials on tracks 4 through 18, including a unique approach to adult toy stores on track 7 -- Celeste Grebinski notes: "A crafty way to sell sex toys, on a 'Lite' station; can't offend the soccer Moms!"

Promos are on tracks 19 through 27, including a submission from the student-run university station in Ellensburg, Washington on track 25. Nick Tozzi and Gary McClenaghan have some fun with a couple of spoofs on tracks 28 and 29. And we wrap it up with some audio you're free to use from Alan Peterson on track 30. Alan notes: "The classic Warner Bros. Looney Tunes melody to which I've added a timpani pad, and then the song's outro (with the equally classic Warner anvil). The pad underscores a hot sound bite or movie clip-of-the-day of the jock's choice. The pad is then trimmed up and the ending grafted on in a digital editor to close the bit. I've included a mixout using an Adam Sandler movie line as an example. It's simple and unsophisticated, but it's one of those 'Wow, I can use this on the show!' pieces we all like and mean to get around to someday." (Thanks, Alan!)

1. "Sideshow" Mike Andersen Demo, Triple M, Sydney, Australia, sideshowmike[at]austereo.com.au
2. Production 212 audio – Dave Foxx, Z100, New York, NY, davefoxx[at]clearchannel.com
3. Q It Up Audio, Bill Jackson, 93.7 JRfm/100.5 The Peak, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, bjackson[at]jrfm.com
4. Headquarter Honda/Greentips-Garbot, CJ Goodearl, Clear Channel, Orlando, Florida, cjgoodearl[at]clearchannel.com
5. Monte Canvas, Andrew Frame, BAFSoundworks, Lehigh Acres, Florida, andrew[at]bafsoundworks.com
6. Sunshine Fun Pools/Food Drive, Buzz Calhoun, Clear Channel, Bryan, Texas, buzzcalhoun[at]clearchannel.com
7. Industrial Luv/Slot D, Celeste Grebinski, Harvard Broadcasting, Regina, Sask., Canada, celesteg[at]harvardbroadcasting.com
8. Shirlie Slack Mitsubishi/Samurai, Chuck Archer, Centennial Broadcasting, Fredericksburg, Virginia, chuck[at]wbqb.com
9. Dept of Environmental Protection/God, Dave Green, Clear Channel, Orlando, Florida, davegreen[at]clearchannel.com
10. Colonial Optical/Snow White, Ian Horne, VerStandig Broadcasting, Harrisonburg, Virginia, ian[at]valleyradio.com
11. Don't Text and Drive PSA, Mike Vuckovich, Kool-FM, Kitchener, Ontario, Canada, mike.vuckovich[at]chumradio.com
12. Logel's Auto Parts/End of Life, Doug Newman, Kool-FM, Kitchener, Ontario, Canada, doug.newman[at]chumradio.com
13. Darth Bong, Rich Conway, WCCC/WBOQ, Hartford, Connecticut, rconway[at]wccc.com
14. NoiseCreep, Rob Frazier, Rob Frazier Creative, Burbank, California, rob[at]robfraziercreative.com
15. Mr. Pets/Sleeping With The Fishes, Robin J. Egerton, CKLM-FM, Lloydminster, Alb., Canada, robin[at]borderrock.com
16. Sign Design, Scott Chasty, Dougall Media, Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada, schasty[at]dougallmedia.com
17. Best Western Rockingham, Sean Bell, East Yorkshire, United Kingdom, sean[at]sounds-good.biz
18. AGS Business Systems, Zach Parkscott, Island Radio/CKWF, Nanaimo, BC, Canada, zparkscott[at]islandradio.bc.ca
19. Off The Grid Presents: Alexisonfire, Scott Chasty, Dougall Media, Thunder Bay, Ont., Canada, schasty[at]dougallmedia.com
20. Test of Metal, Dave Cockram, david.cockram[at]rci.rogers.com
21. Summer Invasion Promo, Gary McClenaghan, Harvard Broadcasting, Regina, Sask., Canada, garym[at]harvardbroadcasting.com
22. Party Van Promo, Ian Horne, VerStandig Broadcasting, Harrisonburg, Virginia, ian[at]valleyradio.com
23. Hot FM's Good Vibes, Jerimiah Busniak, RadioWest/Hot FM Networks, Bunbury, Australia, jerimiah.busniak[at]radiowest.com.au
24. DJ Skip Ellis Mix Show Intro, Jon Carter, Megahertz Studios, Charlotte, North Carolina, jc[at]megahertzstudios.com
25. Planet Vintage promo, Cameron Jessup, KCWU-FM, Ellensburg, Washington, jessupc[at]cwu.edu
26. Why You Listen to the Rock, Rich Conway, WCCC/WBOQ, Hartford, Connecticut, rconway[at]wccc.com
27. Zinc 96 History in the Making, Vaughn Jones, scproduction[at]primeradio.com.au
28. Flatline Love, Nick Tozzi, nicktozzi[at]hotmail.com
29. Even Steven Trailer 2010, Gary McClenaghan, Harvard Broadcasting, Regina, Sask., Canada, garym[at]harvardbroadcasting.com
30. Looney Tunes Bed, Alan Peterson, Radio America Network, Washington, DC, apeterson[at]radioamerica.org

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

  1. Posting comment as a guest. Your post will be moderated. Your email address will not be shown or linked. (If you have an account, log in for real time posting and other options.)
0 Characters
Attachments (0 / 3)
Share Your Location