The R.A.P. CD - October 2006

RAP-CD-logo-2Welcome to the October 2006 RAP CD! We open up with a sampler from this month's interview subject, Ian Fish at Heart in the UK. Up next is audio for this month's Production 212 column from Dave Foxx. We get some clever commercials on tracks 3 through 10, and promos fill out tracks 11 through 20. Track 21 from Al Peterson features more "in-house" produced music from Al who notes: The music portion was produced using Synapse Audio's "Orion Platinum" software - a music production environment - and some free VST plug-in software synthesizers found on the web. Exported WAV files of each instrument playing its part (there were 11 of them) were imported into Adobe Audition for sweetening, separation, processing and mixing, then the movie bites and announcer track were laid in. The free Multiband Limiter plug-in from MDA was used for the final squish before hitting the air. If anyone wants more detailed info or web links, they can e-mail me below. I'm also submitting it to prove two valid points: One, it pays to seek out legal free audio software to make you sound like a genius; and two, ANYBODY can do this on a desktop now. And should.

Dave Cruickshank helps us pay tribute to Pluto, that planet no more, on track 22. Speaking of "in house" music, Jon Carter offers up a Halloween bed you can steal on track 23. Track 24 was produced by two production houses in Ireland to commemorate the 5th anniversary of 9/11. And we wrap it up with a couple of fun tracks from Tony Lee and CJ Goodearl. Nice work everyone!

1. Demo from Ian Fish, Heart Radio, West Midlands, United Kingdom, ian.fish[at]chrysalis.com
2. Production 212 Audio – Dave Foxx, Z100, New York, davefoxx[at]clearchannel.com
3. Mini Waterloo/"Oh!", Steve Thompson, Kool-FM, Kitchener, Ontario, Canada, sthompson[at]koolfm.com
4. Thames Valley Police, Daryl, Tinpot Productions, Dublin, Ireland, Daryl[at]tinpot.net
5. Bingeman's Schools Out Bash, Doug Newman, Kool-FM, Kitchener, Ontario, Canada, dnewman[at]koolfm.com
6. Father's Day PSA, Lee Rugen, Moody Broadcasting, Chicago, Illinois, (312) 329-4285
7. Alabama's Pizza, Seann Shaffer, CFMY/CHAT, Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada, production[at]monarch.net
8. Pat O'Briens, CJ Goodearl, Clear Channel, Orlando, Florida, cjgoodearl[at]clearchannel.com
9. Don't Open the Trunk, Terry "Tunes" Miller, KSCB-FM, Liberal, Kansas, terry[at]kscb.net
10. Tasmania Printer Cartridge Co., Reno Miller, 7 LA, Launceston, Tasmania, Australia, mill_harvest[at]yahoo.com
11. Yanks-Sox Pull the Plug, Bill Tynan, WCBS-AM, New York, NY, wstynan[at]cbs.com
12. All Request Lunch, Markus Schafer, Rawlco Radio, Saskatoon, Sk., Canada, Stoonprod3[at]rawlco.com
13. Brooks & Dunn/Gretchen Wilson/Montgomery Gentry, Garry "D", KNIX/KESZ, Phoenix, Arizona, GarryD[at]clearchannel.com
14. Magic Carpet Teaser, Chris Nicoll, ZM, Auckland, New Zealand, wizz[at]zmonline.com
15. Naughty Boy, Steve Stone, Zimmer Radio, Joplin, Missouri, sstone[at]zrgmail.com
16. Letters, Brad Lane, KSTP-AM, Minneapolis, Minnesota, Blane[at]am1500.com
17. Juice FM Music Imager, Brendan O Driscoll, 96FM, Cork, Ireland, production[at]96fm.ie
18. Robbie In Paris, Vaughn Jones, Hot 91, Sunshine Coast, Australia, production[at]hot91.com.au
19. Kentucky Derby Artist Image, AJ McKay, Radio One, Lewisville, Kentucky, ajmckaycreative[at]aol.com
20. Guy Getaway, Rich Boerner, KLSX, Los Angeles, California, rboerner[at]cbs.com
21. Talkbase 2006 Theme, Alan Peterson, Radio America Network, Washington, DC, apeterson[at]radioamerica.org
22. Block of Ice, Dave Cruickshank, 106.1/99.7 The Goat, Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada, dave[at]borderrock.com
23. Addams Family Remix, Jon Carter, Megahertz Studios, Greensboro, North Carolina, jc[at]megahertzstudios.com
24. 911 Sherry Stringfield Mix, Brendan Bourke, Sonic Surgery, Ireland, brendan[at]sonicsurgery.ie
25. Football is Back, Tony Lee, WCCO-AM, Minneapolis, Minnesota, Tlee[at]wccoradio.cbs.com
26. Tom Brokaw/E-Coli, C.J. Goodearl, Clear Channel, Orlando, Florida, cjgoodearl[at]clearchannel.com

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

  1. Posting comment as a guest. Your post will be moderated. Your email address will not be shown or linked. (If you have an account, log in for real time posting and other options.)
0 Characters
Attachments (0 / 3)
Share Your Location