The R.A.P. CD - July 2003

RAP-CD-logo-2Welcome to the July 2003 RAP CD. We open with a demo from this months interview subject, Rob Frazier at KLSX in Los Angeles. The demo has three segments. The first is a montage of commercials, followed by a sampler of sweeper/promo beds that Rob created with Sonic Foundry's Acid program, and wraps up with a few goodies that never made the air, but certainly deserve an audience. The last segment begins with, "Buy This Piss," a spot Rob refers to in the interview. Its an original Acid composition for a client that sells "clean" urine for folks needing to pass drug screening tests.

Track 2 is audio for this months feature article from Sean Bell at New Yorkshires Production Department (NYPD) on Theme Park Sound Design. Sean explains: "The top and tail are both commercial spots, and the features in between are taken from the high impact features that appear around the park, and across the car parks and entrance points." Track 3 is the commercial Ed Thompson refers to in his article "Inspiring Inspiration" on page 19. Tracks 4 11 give us some more great commercials starting with a spot from Rich Boerner, another member of the creative team at KLSX. Tracks 12 23 are promos, starting with a very creative sales promo on track 12 from Steve Thompson at Kool-FM [March 2003 RAP Interview]. We wrap things up with an unusual piece from the very talented Steve McKenzie who has been looking for a gig with his outstanding resume, which includes numerous awards. Unfortunately for Steve, he's been receiving some negative response to his job search. The piece is a result of his frustration with his search for a gig in this very tight job market. Steve explains: "I put together a "Steve McKenzie audio-biography", which I sent to one of the Chicago stations I have been talking with. It is part true, part humor. I was annoyed enough to create it."

1. Rob Frazier Demo, KLSX-FM, Los Angeles, California, rfrazier[at]cbs.com
2. Theme Park Sound Design Sampler, Sean Bell, NYPD, United Kingdom, seanbell[at]nypd.co.uk
3. Nebraska Heart Institute, Ed Thompson, Wyatt Radio, Omaha, Nebraska, notailsout[at]cox.net
4. Inspiral Condoms, Rich Boerner, KLSX, Los Angeles, California, rboerner[at]cbs.com
5. Pure Freedom Conference, Lee Rugen, Moody Broadcasting, Chicago, Illinois, (312) 329-4285
6. Fathers Day, Sterling Tarrant, Focus on the Family, Colorado Springs, Colorado, Tarransr[at]fotf.org
7. Chick-Fil-A, Gary Lee Michaels, WASK/WKOA, Lafayette, Indiana, michaels[at]wask.com
8. Hoffman Tire/He Got It Right, Jack Cone, J-93.3, Atlanta, Georgia, jack[at]wvfj.com
9. Baked Dirt/Conscience, Mike Mlazgar, Standard Radio, Penticton, British Columbia, Canada, mmlazgar[at]sri.ca
10. Golden Windows, Deborah Vandendiepstraten, Kool-FM, Kitchener, Ontario, Canada, dvandendiepstraten[at]koolfm.com
11. Cattle Baron, Richard Stroobant, CJAY92/Vibe 98-5, Calgary, Alb., Canada, bigdick[at]cjay92.com
12. Kool FM Sales, Steve Thompson, Kool-FM, Kitchener, Ontario, Canada, sthompson[at]koolfm.com
13. Remember Vinyl?, Adam Garey, Homeland Wire Service, Las Vegas, Nevada, talentport[at]aol.com
14. WWGR Concert, Andrew Frame, Renda Broadcasting of Southwest Florida, AFrame[at]rendabroadcasting.com
15. Fartopolooza, Blade, KZPS/KEGL, Dallas, Texas, blade[at]kegl.com
16. May-Tallica Tickets, Brian Whitaker, KAZR-FM, Des Moines, Iowa, brian1025[at]quest.net
17. Oklahoma City Mission, Carol Davis, Blue Ridge Broadcasting, Black Mountain, North Carolina, cdavis[at]brb.org
18. 10 Second Say Our Name Game, Jay Love, Hot 104.5, New Orleans, Louisiana, HotRadioDJ[at]aol.com
19. Corus Community Cruiser, Mike Kaye, Corus Radio, Cornwall, Ontario, Canada, production[at]seawayvalley.com
20. Jimi Hendrix Weekend, Ian Seggie, Rawlco Radio, Saskatoon, Sk., Canada, spots[at]rawlco.com
21. Bud Radio , Ryan Stockert, CJAY92/Vibe 98-5, Calgary, Alb., Canada, rstockert[at]cjay92.com
22. Fathers Day, Shane Smyth, Lite FM, Dublin, Ireland, shane.smyth[at]litefm.ie
23. Religion to Us, Brent Blazieko, Rawlco Radio, Saskatoon, Sk., Canada, stoonprod1[at]rawlco.com
24. Steve McKenzie Audio Biography, Steve McKenzie, NextMedia Kenosha, Wisconsin, smckenzie[at]star105.com

Comments (0)

There are no comments posted here yet

Leave your comments

  1. Posting comment as a guest. Your post will be moderated. Your email address will not be shown or linked. (If you have an account, log in for real time posting and other options.)
0 Characters
Attachments (0 / 3)
Share Your Location